Do Not Worry!

Mountains

Luke 12:25

I love this particular verse.  There are 365 times in the Bible when we are instructed not to fear, and worry (or being anxious) is a form of fear, isn’t it?  Fear and worry are not from God, which is why there is this reminder not to worry, one for each day of the year.

I remember a day years ago when I started thinking about a song that I used to sing in church.  This was during a time when I had a lot of anxious thoughts on my mind.  This particular song was one that I had not heard in many years, so it was strange that I thought about it out of the blue.  Convinced that God might be trying to tell me something, I ended up calling my brother, who at the time was reading the Bible more than I was, and I asked him where in the Bible he thought that song’s inspiration came from.  He told me it was in the book of Matthew, chapter 6.  Specifically, it was Matthew 6:25-34.  What was amazing was that the heading for this chapter in my Bible was entitled “Do Not Worry”!  I got that message loud and clear!

Funny enough, I have forgotten the song that started me on that journey through Matthew, but I have since marked and will always remember that passage because of it.

I have found that Luke 12:25 is also a beautiful reminder not to worry.  I used to fret about so many things, so many fears of things that never actually materialized.  I spent years worrying about those same things.  I am sure you can relate to this.  Did it add any days to my life?  No, but I am convinced that my negative thinking probably shortened them a little!

God sees everything we are going through.  He is holding us in His hands.  Why do we, then, keep forgetting that God has told us not to worry?   Whatever you are going through today, He’s got this!  As a friend of mine once said so wisely, and I am paraphrasing here, “You are too little to carry that burden yourself.  Let God take care of it.”    May you feel the peace which comes from letting go and letting Him take care of you.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Do Not Worry!

  1. Jan C says:

    I really like what you wrote. It is so true. We waste way too much time worrying about things that we usually have no control over. As others said, ” let go, and let God.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kerry says:

      I almost wrote that down, actually (“let go, and let God”). I am glad you liked this. Thanks for commenting; it is very encouraging to me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

